States completely banning the consumption of alcohol

States completely banning the consumption of alcohol 25

Mizoram, Bihar, Gujrat, Nagaland and the Union Territory of Lakshadweep are the states that have imposed a ban on alcohol consumption.

Now here’s a list of dry states in India:

1. Mizoram:

After the implementation of the Mizoram Liquor Total Prohibition Act, 1995, alcohol sale and consumption was banned from 20 February 1997. It was later amended to allow the consumption of wine but with the alcohol content in control. The state revoked prohibition on 10 July 2014 and passed the Mizoram Liquor (Prohibition and Control) Bill 2014 (or MLPC), replacing the MLTP Act. The Mizoram Liquor (Prohibition) Bill, 2019 was passed in the state Assembly on 20th March.

2. Bihar:

On 26 November 2015, Bihar CM, Nitish Kumar announced that alcohol would be banned in the state from 1 April 2016. And, officially declared the total ban on 5 April 2016. The Government of Bihar introduced a new version of the Bihar Prohibition and Excise Act on 2 October 2016, days after the Patna High Court quashed the previous bill, deeming it as “illegal”. 

3. Gujrat:

Gujrat is one of the dry states declared by the government and is the only Indian state with a death penalty for makers and sellers of home-made liquor. The legislation is titled the Bombay Prohibition (Gujarat Amendment) Bill, 2009.

4. Nagaland: 

The Nagaland Liquor Total Prohibition Act (NLTP) banned the sale and consumption of alcohol in 1989 and thus it’s a dry state till today. News of the state shows that the police officers are involved in rum-running or bootlegging and thus, the Congress party has termed prohibition a “total failure” and has pleaded for it to be repealed.

5. Lakshadweep:

The Lakshadweep Prohibition Regulation, 1979 prohibits the sale and consumption of alcohol or any intoxicating drugs in the Union Territory of Lakshadweep. Consumption is allowed only on the island of Bangaram. an uninhabited island, having a bar.